Everything Else Everything else

The BE and ERA/Shearwater Awards at the End of Season Event, the “Eventers’ Ball”.

Last Friday evening around 300 event riders got together to really let their hair down at the End of Season Event. One highlight of the night was the presentation of some of the BE Awards and the Event Riders Association/Shearwater Awards. Jonty Evans was the night’s Master of Ceremonies and did an excellent job.

Screen shot 2014-11-25 at 11.50.08

BE Chairman Hugh Thomas, and compere Jonty Evans

The BE Awards presented by BE Chairman Hugh Thomas were:

Leading Grassroots Rider:  Jo Boggon.
Leading Foundation Points Rider: Ros Canter.
Goldman Cup to the leading u21 rider: David Doel.
Leading GB Rider at Junior Euros: Anna Wilkes.
Tony Collins Trophy to leading GB rider in overall BE points: Oliver Townend.

The ERA Awards, which are lovely quality laser-cut crystal mementoes, provided, as last year, by Crystalis3d, were sponsored by long-standing ERA supporters Shearwater Insurance, and presented by Shearwater founder Jeremy Lawton.

Some of the Award recipients were chosen by a panel of worldwide eventing Names consulted by ERA, while others were voted for by Social Media followers on Facebook and Twitter. With nearly 2,000 votes registered, this was very popular.

The ERA/Shearwater Awards Winners were as follows:

Screen shot 2014-11-25 at 12.56.04

Shearwater’s Jeremy Lawton presenting the prizes

neurontin 800 mg tablets Rising Star:  young French rider Tom Carlile, a former Working Pupil of Lucinda Fredericks. Tom won the CCIs at Le Lion d’Angers 7 yr old Champs and at Boekelo this year.

http://demo3.goodvibeswebsitedesign.co.uk/wp-json/wp/v2/categories/5 Best Organiser: Helen West for Bicton.  Helen is a Rider turned Organiser, and this was awarded as recognition for her tireless efforts at Bicton, which have been hugely appreciated by so many riders. She has been really putting the venue back on the map, and next season there will be 3 CICs held at Bicton, as well as classes from BE(80)T to OI.

http://blog.americanchefsupply.com/homepage-full-post-featured/page/2/ Most Influential: Jonelle Price. Awarded in recognition of her amazing year, which included 4th place at WEG (posting the fastest time of the day XC), 9th at Burghley, 1st at Blenheim and 4th at Pau.

underneath Against All Odds: Harry Meade. Harry smashed both elbows in a horrendous fall in 2013 and it was a true fairy tale that even he made it back to ride at Badminton. They were robbed of the win by a show jump down, but it was still an amazing result to finish third over the toughest Badminton XC track for years.
Runner-up: Boffie Brown. Boffie fought back to fitness and confidence after a horrendous car crash, and made it back to BE eventing this season, with a placing at Little Downham.

Screen shot 2014-11-25 at 11.48.53

The ERA/Shearwater Awards, ready for presentation.

Use of Social Media (Pro rider): Lissa Green.  Lissa’s first reaction to being told the news of her win was “OH MY GOD – are you actually joking????? I honestly thought I had no chance??? Are you sure it’s me?”  She obviously has no idea how many fans she has out there rooting for her!
Runner-up: Laura Collett.

Use of Social Media (Amateur Rider): Pumbaa Goess-Saurau.  Pumbaa finished last season on a high with a win, and is recovering from knee surgery (from a hockey injury!) at the moment. We all wish her the best with her rehab and look forward to seeing her in action again next year.
Runner-up Trudy Johnson

Rider’s Choice: Harry Meade.  I’m sure everyone was impressed with how extraordinarily composed and eloquent Harry managed to be when interviewed for the TV cameras at WEG shortly after the unthinkable happened and Wild Lone tragically died after completing a fantastic and easy clear round.
Runner-up Francis Whittington.

Many thanks to the Organisers for putting on a great and memorable evening. Photos of the night are HERE to view and purchase.

About the author